55 years ago on October 18th, 1965
Closing day of the NY World's Fair at Flushing Meadows Park
The fair had run from April to October in both 1964 and 1965, showcasing modern technology and speculations about future innovations. Flushing Meadows–Corona Park had been created to host the 1939/1940 World's Fair and still holds many structures built for the fairs, most famously the 140-foot-high stainless steel Unisphere, which has become an iconic symbol of both Flushing and Queens itself. The Parks Department offers free guided World's Fair History Walking Tours once a month.
Listen to the Bowery Boys podcast, where Greg Young and Tom Meyers have done a fantastic job of digging into the history of New York's World's Fairs.